
 The mandated reporter law 
and other pertinent laws 

 The new screening guidelines 
and the CAPMIS tools 

 How professionals can make a 
referral and what they can ex-
pect 

 Family assessments and the 
services that will be provided 
to families 

THE TWO-HOUR TRAINING 
WILL BE A CONDENSDED 
VERSION. WE ASK THAT INDI-
VIDUALS COMPLETE THE 
FOUR-HOUR VERSION BE-
FORE ATTENDING THE CON-
DENSED VERSION. 

THE FOUR-HOUR TRAINING 
WILL ADDRESS: 

Mandated 
Reporter  
Tra in ing 

“Protecting Children by  
Strengthening Families” 

Franklin County  
Children Services 

 
855 West Mound Street 
Columbus, Ohio 43223 

 
 

TO REGISTER: 
Please e-mail Lydia Quinichett at  

laquinic@fccs.us  
Please include the following: 

 

   Your name 
  Agency name 
  Agency address 
  Daytime phone 
  Evening/cell phone 
 

You may also register by mailing the  
registration form which is located in the  

inside of this brochure. 

DO YOU HAVE A LARGE GROUP THAT 
WOULD BENEFIT FROM THIS 

TRAINING? 
 

We will provide training at your facility for 
groups of  

25-40 participants 

For more information or questions about 
Mandated Reporter Training,  

please contact: 
 

Shawney Johnson at 
lrjohnso@fccs.us 
(614) 275-2684 

or  
Shelley Weaver  at 
scweaver@fccs.us 

(614) 278-5909 

PROTECTING CHILDREN BY STRENGTHENIING FAMILIES 

It is a prerequisite that prior to scheduling, one or two 
representatives from your agency attend a  
workshop on-site to assure that the information being  
presented meets your needs.  



NEW SCREENING 
GUIDELINES  

TRAINING OPPORTUNITIES  
 
Franklin County Children Services provides 
free training for professionals who are man-
dated to report child abuse and neglect. 

2016 Training Sessions  
will be held on:  

 
March 14, 2016 (4-hour) 
April 25, 2016 (2-hour) 
June 23, 2016 (2-hour) 

August 5, 2016 (4-hour) 
October 12, 2016 (2-hour) 
December 5, 2016 (4-hour) 

 

All 4-hour sessions will begin at 9am  
and end at 1pm. Training certificates with social 
work provider hours will be available for those 

who attend the entire session. 
 

All 2-hour Refresher sessions will begin at 9am 
and end at 11am. Training certificates of com-
pletion (no licensure) will be provided for those 

who attend the entire session. 
 

All sessions will be held at: 
Franklin County Children Services 

855 West Mound Street 
Columbus, Ohio 43223 

 
 

WHO SHOULD ATTEND? 
School teachers/administrators;  

public health professionals;  
mandated reporters 

New screening guidelines and a new 
model for assessing the safety of children 
are now in place at Franklin County Chil-
dren Services. 

During the summer of 2007, the Agency 
implemented CAPMIS, the comprehen-
sive assessment and planning model—
interim solution, which affects decision-
making from the time a child or family is 
referred and throughout the life of the 
case. This model helps Children Services 
workers better protect and care for chil-
dren who are unsafe, and avoid interven-
ing in the lives of families where parents 
are able to protect their children. 

Professionals who report suspected 
abuse or neglect may see differences in 
how the Agency handles their calls and in 
how services are provided. Tools for as-
sessing the safety of children and 
timeframes for providing services have 
also changed. 

Time is built into the training for questions 
and activities. This training meets the re-
quirements that many professionals have 
for child abuse training.  

REGISTRATION FORM  

 

Name_________________________________________ 

 
___________________________________________ 

 
Agency Name_____________________ 
 

________________________________ 

 

Agency Address__________________________ 

 
___________________________________________ 
 

Daytime Phone____________________ 
 

Evening/Cell Phone_________________ 
 

E-mail Address____________________ 
 

________________________________ 

 

Session: 
 March 14, 2016, register by Feb. 29, 2016 

 April 25, 2016, register by April 11, 2016 

 June 23, 2016, register by June 9, 2016 

 August 5, 2016, register by July 22, 2016 

 October 12, 2016, register by Sept 28, 2016 

 December 5, 2016, register by Nov. 21, 2016 
 
    

An e-mail confirmation of registration will be 
sent two weeks prior to the training session. 


